Beads of Life Charity Home (Ghana)


Beads of Life Charity Home protects needy children in Ghana from a life on the streets. It is mostly hope for a better life which drives children from poor families onto the streets. There however the only thing they find is violence, exploitation and even more poverty. Most of these children have to involve in child labour, prostitution or thievery to make a living. Due to the emotional harm, it is extremely difficult to reintegrate these children into the society.
The aim of Beads of Life Charity Home is to intervene as early as possible in order to prevent the children from entering the vicious cycle of poverty and violence. Disadvantaged children find in Beads of Life Charity Home a safe and secure environment, education and guidance, thus receiving new prospects for a sustainable livelihood.

Central project activities

A home for every child

haus

In 2012 we bought a large piece of land in New Koforidua, a village in the rural area of the Ashanti Region. This is where we have built new dormitories for the accommodation of 30 children. The house contains five bedrooms with a bath to each room, an office and a store room. Those children who cannot stay in their original families find a new home here. The builing is now in the last stage of completion. A kitchen and common room will follow.

Education against poverty

All children supported by Beads of Life Charity Home attend school. We cover the cost of school fees and equipment. Schools in the rural areas however often don't provide satisfactory education. Furthermore it is in Ghana still common to use the cane on children, even though it is legally forbidden. We have therefore set a target to build a primary school on the premises of the home by 2025. We will then be able to teach the younger children in an appropriate and non-violent way.

Finding a place in life

Childrens rights are very important to us. We want to empower our children in such a way, that they become aware of their rights and responsibilities as members of their society. We organize project work and seminars for the children to look into issues of social difficulties and reposition themselves. In future we will also organize a childrens parliament, which will give them the chance to actively participate in issues concerning them.

Involving parents and families

Most children seeking shelter in Beads of Life Charity Home come from dysfunctional families. Taking care of the child helps immediately. However, our aim is that as many children as possible are able to stay in their families or return there. Low-threshold evening talks and seminars to issues like hygiene, childrens rights and the importance of education help to change mindsets and create supportive conditions within the family. The impact this can have on a family also influences their environment, so that the message of Beads of Life Charity Home spreads in the community.

Beads of Life Charity Home (Ghana)


Beads of Life Charity Home schützt bedürftige Kinder in Ghana vor einem Leben auf der Straße. Meist ist es die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben, welches insbesondere Kinder aus armen Familien auf dem Land auf die Straßen der großen Städte treibt. Dort sind sie Ausbeutung, Gewalt und Armut ausgesetzt und müssen ihren Lebensunterhalt durch Kinderarbeit, Prostitution oder Diebstahl verdienen. Die Reintegration dieser Kinder in die Gesellschaft ist aufgrund der emotionalen Schäden enorm schwierig.
Beads of Life Charity Home hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch frühzeitiges Eingreifen nach Möglichkeit den Eintritt der Kinder in den Teufelskreis aus Armut und Gewalt zu verhindern. Benachteiligte Kinder bekommen in Beads of Life Charity Home eine Heimat und erhalten durch Bildung und individuelle Förderung eine neue Perspektive für ihr Leben.

Projektschwerpunkte

Kinder brauchen eine Heimat

haus

Zur Betreuung der Kinder wurde 2012 ein großes Grundstück in New Koforidua, einem kleinen Dorf in der Ashanti Region, erworben. Dort wurde ein Wohnhaus mit fünf Schlafzimmern errichtet. Hier finden diejenigen Kinder, die nicht in ihren Familien bleiben können, ein dauerhaftes Zuhause. Jedes Zimmer verfügt über ein eigenes Bad. Außerdem gibt es ein Büro und einen Lagerraum. Das Gebäude befindet sich im letzten Abschnitt der Fertigstellung. Hinzu kommen werden ein Kochhaus und ein Gemeinschaftsraum.

Bildung gegen Armut

Alle Kinder, die von Beads of Life Charity Home unterstützt werden, gehen zur Schule. Es werden die Kosten für Schulgebühren und Schulmaterialien übernommen. Die Schulbildung in ländlichen Regionen ist jedoch häufig qualitativ unzureichend. Obwohl in Ghana die Benutzung des Rohrstocks zur Disziplinierung in Schulen gesetzlich verboten ist, werden die Kinder immer noch regelmäßig geschlagen. Wir haben uns darum zum Ziel gesetzt, bis 2025 eine Grundschule auf dem Gelände des Heims zu errichten, in der die jüngeren Kinder altersgerecht und gewaltfrei unterrichtet werden können.

Lebenswege gestalten

Kinderrechte haben bei uns eine besondere Bedeutung. Die Kinder werden von Beads of Life in ihren Rechten gestärkt und dazu angeleitet, Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Dazu finden Projekte und Kurse für die Kinder statt, in denen sie sich mit gesellschaftlichen Missständen auseinandersetzen und Wege kennenlernen, sich anders zu positionieren. In einem Kinderparlament werden die Kinder künftig ihre Lebenswelt selbst mitgestalten.

Eltern und Familien mitnehmen

Durch niedrigschwellige Themenabende und Kurse zu Themen wie Hygiene, Kinderrechten und der Bedeutung von Bildung arbeiten wir darauf hin, dass möglichst viele Kinder in ihren Familien bleiben oder dorthin zurückgeführt werden können. Darüber hinaus nehmen die geschulten Familien durch veränderte Denkweisen Einfluss auf andere Familien in ihrem Umfeld und wirken somit als Multiplikator für die Ziele von Beads of Life Charity Home.